25 Mountjoy Square, Dublin 1 – 3rd February 2019, 4.30pm

Mia Cooper, Nicola Sweeney (Violin)
Simon Aspell, David Kenny (Viola)
Brian O’Kane, Aoife Burke (Cello)

Strauss – String Sextet from Capriccio
Sam Perkin – Duet for Two Violas
Brahms – Sextet No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 18

Both of Brahms’ sextets for strings are early works; the first, B flat Major Sextet was composed when Brahms was only twenty-seven years old. Clara Schumann wrote of the piece: “It was even more beautiful than I had anticipated, and my expectations were already high.” Sam Perkin’s Duet for Two Violas will follow, and the programme will conclude with the lovely string sextet that serves as the introduction to Capriccio, Richard Strauss’ final operatic venture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s